Brighton's finest Tru Thoughts Recordings is already 15 years old, and still one of the leading labels in the UK after all these years. Paris DJs has been having a long and lasting relationship with this imprint for most of those 15 years…

Our most faithful readers might remember the 'fansite' that we used to run for a few years (now closed but the content of which has been fully re-integrated into around 2007…).

Our faithful listeners might remember all the remixes Grant Phabao has been cooking from a cappellas found in Tru Thoughts releases: reggae reworks of Alice Russell, Quantic Soul Orchestra, Nostalgia 77, Kinny, etc. - or the guest mixes by Lanu from The Bamboos (mix #72, #253), Diesler (#92), Flevans (#94, #187), Azzax (#169), Quantic (#207, #319, #388), Hidden Orchestra (#259, #277, #303, #347), Belleruche (#264), Nostalgia 77 (#332) or Beta Hector (mix #362).

All those mixes by or about Tru Thoughts artists generated more than 230.000 downloads along the years!! And it's not stopping there. To celebrate this anniversary we've decided to invite four artists picked by the label from their rooster for a series of four exclusive mixes. Stay connected to grab those in the coming weeks…

On their side, Tru Thoughts have been doing many events for this anniversary, leading up to the release of this double CD compilation (and a very limited 3LP/2CD & book boxset) filled with hits, missed hits, album picks, singles rarities, and a 16 pages booklet...

Tru Thoughts 15th Anniversary
Various - Tru Thoughts 15th Anniversary
(2xCD/3xLP, 2xCD & Book boxset) Tru Thoughts TRUCD300/TRULP300X, 2014-10-20

Tracklisting CD1 :
01. Quantic & Alice Russell with the Combo Bárbaro - Look Around The Corner
02. Nostalgia 77 - Quiet Dawn (Bonobo Remix)
03. The Bamboos - I Don’t Wanna Stop (Marc Mac Grown Soul Mix)
04. Maddslinky - Further Away feat. Tawiah
05. Harleighblu - This Way
06. Lanu - Roosevelt Blues feat. Megan Washington
07. Freddie Cruger & Anthony Mills Are Wildcookie - Tuesday Is Friday
08. Bonobo - Dinosaurs
09. Hidden Orchestra - Dust
10. Quantic & His Combo Bárbaro - Undelivered Letter
11. Hot 8 Brass Band - Steamin’ Blues
12. Natural Self - The Rising feat. Andreya Triana (The Broken Keys Remix)
13. Alice Russell - For A While
14. Mark de Clive-Lowe - The Why feat. Nia Andrews
15. Kinny - You From This Sting
16. Belleruche - Wasted Time

Tracklisting CD2 :
01. The Quantic Soul Orchestra - Pushin’ On feat. Alice Russell (Situation Edit)
02. Hint - Aliens Enter feat. T-Fly (Hint Remix)
03. Werkha - Lapwing
04. Lost Midas - Dance Monkeys feat. NüTrik
05. Omar & Zed Bias - Dancing
06. Don Pascal - Tributo (The Reflex Tribute Mix)
07. Zed Bias - Fairplay feat. Jenna G (Zed Bias Old Skool Mix)
08. Saravah Soul - Mestico (Debruit Remix)
09. Bonobo - Terrapin (Paul SG Remix)
10. London Posse - Money Mad (Drumagick Jungle Remix)
11. Wrongtom Meets Deemas J - Jump+Move+Rock (Wickaman Remix)
12. Sleepin’ Giantz - Badungdeng
13. Titeknots - Hummingbirds
14. Ty - Knock Knock

Links :
Tru Thoughts : official | etchshop | facebook | juno | parisdjs | soundcloud | twitter | youtube

Press Release :
This year sees the 15th Anniversary of Tru Thoughts Recordings, the pioneering and innovative label from Brighton which won the coveted Gilles Peterson Worldwide Award for Best Label way back in 2005 and has continued to go from strength to strength, amassing a truly international roster and fanbase as well as mainstream acclaim. This double CD compilation - all compiled by A&R Robert Luis - celebrates the past, present and future of his thriving independent label’s eclectic and adventurous catalogue. The deluxe CD booklet also includes exclusive photographs and an in depth interview with Robert Luis and label co-owner Paul Jonas.

This celebration of independent artistic talent encompasses the early leftfield electronica of Bonobo and Quantic’s trailblazing world explorations, to Alice Russell’s powerhouse soul and New Orleans’ iconic Hot 8 Brass Band; UK legends like Rodney P and Zed Bias, through to the stars of tomorrow with cutting edge production from Lost Midas, Titeknots and Werkha and the natural vocal prowess of Harleighblu. The double CD features some previously unreleased exclusives, including Wickaman’s D&B remix of the popular Wrongtom Meets Deemas J cut "Jump+Move+Rock", and a new rework by Paul SG of Bonobo’s classic "Terrapin".

The release follows the London label party at Koko in February at which the artists, staff and some 1500 fans welcomed the label’s 15th Birthday year in explosive style; the Tru Thoughts 15th Anniversary celebrations are now getting into full swing, with festival takeovers across the Summer and an anniversary show at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles on 20th October.
Reflecting on the release, Robert Luis says: "Our 15th Anniversary is a chance for us to celebrate how far we’ve come, but also to look forward with excitement for the future", this compilation certainly does just that.

Original post on Paris DJs