In 2010 our esteemed collaborators Adrian Quesada and Shawn Lee finally met at the SXSW festival in Austin. In 2012 they started trading ideas through the internet. Late 2013 they released the first volume of their soft psych/folk/funk/psychedelic project The Electric Peanut Butter Company which we hailed on Paris DJs as one of the best albums of the year. That first volume was called 'Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics Vol.2'. "Trans-Atlantic" is quite self-explanatory, with Adrian based in Austin, Texas and Shawn in London, UK. "Psych Classics" becomes obvious once you give the music a listen. But "Vol.2"? That was a mystery, which is soon going to be solved, since in a couple of months from now the "Vol.1" will be released!! Shawn Lee once explained that he liked to mess with people minds so it all becomes clear: it was just a matter of "let's put out vol.2 and we'll put out vol.1" later… Nothing THAT suprising considering the players involved here!! :-)

Adrian Quesada and Shawn Lee play every instruments on this, and Shawn is on vocal duties when needed. The recipe is clearly written on the back of the digipack: 35% psychedelic, 25% soul, 20% rock and 20% funk. Before even listening, it already smells tasty, doesn't it? And indeed it does, with a global psychedelic library/rock edge, as expected from the duo, after the recent 'Brown Sabbath' and Spanish Gold groovy rock-oriented projects from Adrian, and 'The Beta Club' or Tim Love Lee' collaborative projects from Shawn. Favorites include the laidback cinematic groove of 'Stealio', the more uptempo jam 'Mister Pink', the psychedelic funk drenched in analog synths and guitar from 'Austin City Limiter', or the sinister soul ballad 'Jenn Wu'.
As with the previous volume, vinyl is recommended…

The Electric Peanut Butter Company - Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics Vol 1
The Electric Peanut Butter Company - Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics Vol.1
(CD/LP) Ubiquity Records UR341, 2015-02-24

Tracklisting :
01. Flexi Funk 3:41
02. Beer Good 2:07
03. Spread The Jam 3:52
04. Stealio 2:51
05. Mary's Chair 4:57
06. Go Go Go 2:13
07. Tennis Elbow 3:36
08. Mister Pink 3:06
09. DamnSkippy-4:26
10. Austin City Limiter 3:07
11. Jenn Wu 4:18
12. Fat Budda 4:03

Links :
Buy it on bandcamp | juno
The Electric Peanut Butter Company : discogs | bandcamp | facebook | juno
Ubiquity Records : official | facebook | parisdjs | | twitter | youtube

Press Release :
Attracting much fanfare and garnering tons of plays by tastemakers, radio stations-in-the-know, and DJ's alike, the first Electric Peanut Butter Company album was jar-full of '60s psychedelic goodness. But guess what? The dynamic duo of Shawn Lee and Adrian Quesada are back with Vol.1 of their Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics masterpiece!

Adrian Quesada is a man on a mission! He has been killing it in both the recording studio and on the live stage. While on his Brown Sabbath (Brownout) & Spanish Gold albums/tours he found stolen moments in hotel rooms whilst on tour to send musical compadre Shawn Lee tracks for the second Electric Peanut Butter Company album entitled Trans- Atlantic Psych Classics Vol 1 !!!!!

The band of brothers created the music in the same fashion as their debut but with a noticeably fuzzier more dirtier edge. The album starts with Flexi Funk. On this track the drums were recorded straight to Flexi disc on a 1950's tube machine which sounds other worldly and crusty as f#@k!!!

Other highlights include the psych pop gem Spread The Jam which declares the duos intentions. The album has a more heavy psych vibe than it's predecessor but deftly continues a logical progression for Los Hermanos Adrian Quesada & Shawn Lee. Two of the hardest working musicians in show bidness and from the looks of it, just getting started!

Spread the jam....

Original post on Paris DJs