Already the 5th single extracted from the may 2014 'Magnetica' album, 'Spark It sees producer Quantic go back to the reggae/dancehall vibes he once stepped a toe in with his Flowering Inferno concept. Featuring guest vocals from late 80s/early 90s Jamaican singer/toaster/rapper from New York Shinehead, don't expect any cumbia here, this is pure retro UK dancehall, roots & catchy!

Bonus remixes include a dub version by Quantic himself, an old school jungle remix by Ghost Writerz, a trap version by Ed West, the original instrumental, and, as a digital extra track, a horn-led jazzy re-imagination of Quantic's previous single 'Painting Silhouettes', by our esteemed collaborator Todd Simon.

Quantic - Spark It feat Shinehead
Quantic - Spark It feat. Shinehead (12"/Digital Single) Tru Thoughts TRU302, 2015-04-06

Tracklisting :
01. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Radio Edit) 3:09
02. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Original LP Version) 5:27
03. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Quantic Dub) 3:18
04. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Ghost Writerz Remix) 4:58
05. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Ed West Remix) 5:52
06. Spark It feat. Shinehead (Original Instrumental) 5:25
07. Painting Silhouettes (Todd Simon's Painting Glugelhorns Edit) * 3:25

(* digital single/vinyl download card only bonus track)

Links :
Quantic : official | discogs | facebook | juno | parisdjs | soundcloud | twitter | vimeo | youtube
Tru Thoughts : official | etchshop | facebook | juno | parisdjs | soundcloud | twitter

Press Release :
Quantic's acclaimed 'Magnetica' album keeps on turning up great singles, and the fifth track to demand its own release is "Spark It" feat. Shinehead. Out 6th April, this effervescent dancehall-inflected cut sees Quantic's impeccably authentic production combining with the charismatic flow of reggae legend Shinehead,who hooked up with Will "Quantic" Holland in LA, when they both happened to be visiting the city, for a one-off recording session.

"I'm a big fan, so it was an amazing opportunity", says Holland; "The session was short, but he just nailed it. Every time the record button was on, he'd give a million different versions. He was really vibey, very easy to make records with."

In addition to the original LP version, this covetable single - released on translucent green 12" vinyl, in a nod to the herb that's getting sparked - brings an exclusive Quantic Dub of "Spark It" plus a pair of killer remixes from Ghost Writerz and Ed West, representing the New Wave of Sound System Culture coming through via Tru Thoughts' freshly launched Sharp And Ready platform. [And the promo includes a snappy Radio Edit.]

Original post on Paris DJs