Exactly one year after Volume 6, Tramp Records releases the next instalment in their 'Movements' series of unheard soul & jazz diggin' picks from the 60s & the 70s. The promotional CD doesn't really does the record justice, since it' doesn't include the 16-page CD-booklet (or the deluxe double-gatefold LP's detailed liner notes with label scans and unseen photographs), and since all songs appear on a full-length album for the very first time… Priceless information that make this kind of compilations must-haves in the long term! Thankfully, the music is killer, on a more jazz tip than usual, including some very cool covers of the 'Unchain My Heart', 'St. James Infirmary', 'California Dreaming' and 'Take Five' classics. I've said it before, but Tobias Kirmayer's selections fits so perfectly with what Paris DJs, and each of his compilations is so full of treasures and discoveries, that they're always a delight to listen to. Been playing this new times three times in a row already…

Movements Vol 7 - Compiled by Tobias Kirmayer
Various - Movements Vol.7 - Compiled by Tobias Kirmayer
(CD/2LP) Tramp Records TR9042, 2015-03-16

Tracklisting :
01. Dorothy Ramsey - He's a Real Gone Guy 02:51
02. Johnny B & The Music Makers - Unchain My Heart 03:31 (1968)
03. Bobby Wade - They Call It Stormy Monday 02:33
04. Rene Bailey - Woke up This Morning 03:08
05. Howard A. Smith - Sugar 02:34
06. Nu Art Quartet - California Dreaming 03:51 (1971)
07. Johnny Walker Trio - The Purple Jellybean 02:27
08. Bob Brown Quartet - Dell's Bell's 02:46
09. Bob Hines Trio - Dasheka 03:13
10. Steve Mason Trio - The Nitty Gritty Humbug 02:50
11. Al Jarreau & George Duke Trio - Take Five 06:16 (1976)
12. Matilda Haywood - Can You Handle It? 03:32
13. George Smith - Out of This World 04:06
14. Ray Johnson - The Deep End 02:51
15. Lee Mitchell - How Can You Be so Cold 03:53
16. Shelley Fisher - St. James Infirmary 04:17 (1970)
17. The Eminent Stars - Hearts Are Jumping 03:24

Links :
Tramp Records : official | bandcamp | discogs | juno | parisdjs | youtube

Press Release :
One year has passed since the last release in this series and, as always, the Tramp Records crew have been working hard during the last 12 months to come up with an equally fine selection of tunes for this brand new volume. Our aim is to keep up with the quality of each release, a task which certainly does not get any easier as we step forward into the twenty first century.

There is no need to praise this selection of tracks. It is larger-than-life. And those who do not recognize the distinctiveness of it should better seek medical advice. The most astounding fact is certainly that 99% of the record buying public have never heard any of these tunes, most likely not even the artists. And we are not talking of people who solely listen to mainstream music. No. Even music lovers who believe that they have a good portion of knowledge when it comes to jazz and soul music will be left speechless.

You can skip to any song on this album and you won't be disappointed. The only premise is that you are a fan of raw, earthy soul and jazz music. If this is the case then you can't go wrong. Rene Bailey, Matilda Haywood, Lee Mitchell, Nu Art Quartet, to name a few. It is high time to introduce all these names to a broad audience and to prevent that they vanish into thin air. The Movements series was coined to introduce music lovers to so far unheard musical treasures. Tunes which only hardcore record collectors have had the privilege to enjoy it... until now.

Original post on Paris DJs