Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey Stay Gold
Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey - The Race Riot Suite
(CD/2xLP/Download) Kinnara Records/The Royal Potato Family, 2011-08-30

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey will be releasing at the end of this summer their 21st album release entitled The Race Riot Suite on Kinnara Records in partnership with the Royal Potato Family. The Race Riot Suite was written by Chris Combs for the Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey quartet (Brian Haas piano, Chris Combs lap steel, Josh Raymer drums, Jeff Harshbarger bass) plus horn quintet. In January 2011 the band recorded the piece at Tulsa's hallowed Church Studio with guest horn players Jeff Coffin (Bela Fleck & the Flecktones, Dave Matthews Band), Steven Bernstein (Sex Mob, Levon Helm), Peter Apfelbaum (Hieroglyphics, Don Cherry), Mark Southerland (Snuff Jazz) & Matt Leland (a founding JFJO member).

Continue reading

Original post on Paris DJs